Knowledge Base
How Domain Privacy Protection Auto-Renewal Works
When you want to understand how domain privacy protection renews automatically. This article explains how domain privacy protection auto-renewal works.
If a domain already had Privacy Protection ON and it expires, the system does not do anything till the last day of the renewal grace period of the domain.
If a domain already had Privacy Protection ON and it expires, the system does not do anything till the last day of the renewal grace period of the domain.
On the last day of the Renewal Grace Period (irrespective of whether the domain has already been renewed or not), the system checks for two things:
1. If the customer price for privacy protection is zero
2. Was privacy protection already active on the domain
If the customer price is zero, then the system auto-renews privacy protection and no mail is sent to the customer.
If customer price is not zero, then the system terminates privacy protection. Note that in this scenario, the system would send out an email notification to the customer a few days in advance letting them know that their privacy protection service will be terminated if they don't renew it explicitly.
If privacy protection was OFF (i.e. service is added but simply disabled by customer or reseller), then the system will NOT auto-renew it. Instead, it will be terminated and the customer will have to purchase it again.
The customer will receive an email notification when the service is terminated.
Did you find this article helpful?